Keystone joins national climate commitment group

June 17th, 2015 1:50 pm

First Posted: 8/8/2007

Keystone College is one of a select group of colleges and universities in the nation committed to taking a leadership role to reduce global warming. Keystone has become a charter member of the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), an organization consisting of college presidents banding together to make a direct impact on one of the most challenging issues of the 21st century. Keystone and other members jointly agree to develop a long-range plan for their respective institutions to reduce and ultimately neutralize greenhouse gas emissions on campus and to accelerate research and educational efforts to protect and preserve the environment. In addition to Keystone, other Pennsylvania colleges that have become ACUPCC charter signatories include the University of Pennsylvania, Dickinson College, Juniata College, Eastern University, and Allegheny College. Other well-known universities participating in the effort include Cornell University, Syracuse University, the University of North Carolina, the University of Florida and the University of Colorado. College and universities are ideal settings to develop workable new strategies, systems, behaviors and technologies that can involve local communities and individual states. By involving students, faculty and staff, these institutions can become effective models for achieving climate neutrality and sustainability. The American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment is based in Boston, Mass. and coordinated by the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education and the environmental organizations EcoAmerica and Second Nature. For more information, visit