Lackawanna Trail students dedicate books to board members

June 18th, 2015 10:24 am

First Posted: 1/13/2015

FACTORYVILLE — A book dedication for the annual school board recognition month, kicked off the Lackawanna Trail school board meeting Jan. 12.

Dr. Mark Murphy, principal of Lackawanna Trail High School, introduced four students and the student council advisor, Denise Collins. Amanda Kinback, Marleah Filan, Jacob Furneaux, Marissa Passaniti dedicated books to the board members.

“In recognition of your time and efforts, we purchased some books for the school library that students and teachers are interested in and we have these fine students, who are going to present them on behalf of their classmates,” said elementary librarian Celeste Cali.

The following elementary students each presented a book to be dedicated to the Trail school board: Jake Ryan, kindergarten; Gavin Waibel, first grade; Brayden Clarke, third grade; Emmy Jones, third grade; Brady Ryan, third grade; Jayde Waibel, fourth grade; and Morgan Faist, sixth grade.

The board members applauded the students for their book dedication.

In his superintendent’s report, Matthew Rakauskas mentioned that Lackawanna Trail had four days in which school was cancelled due to inclement weather. He said that the make-up days are Jan. 19, April 2 and June 3, and the last day of the second marking period will be Jan. 22.

In his elementary report, principal Brian Kelly made an update of the Bring Your Own Device Program.

“Our staff continues to get more comfortable implementing technology and allowing students to bring their own devices,” he stated.

Kelly also announced that Trail will be administrating foresight assessments this week.

“All staff generates a predictor on how our students will do on the PSSA (Pennsylvania System of School Assessment) exam,” he said. “So, we could drive our instruction from those results.”

Also, in her special education report, Stephanie Russell mentioned that she, Murphy, and Kelly are working on a homebound manual.

In other business, the board voted to approve:

• The daily substitute rate increase to $90 per day and $95 for bonus substitutes.

• Megan Horwatt be appointed to the elementary music long-term substitute position for the remainder of the 2014-15 school year at a salary of $46,000, pro-rated as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.

• Megan Johnson as an elementary long-term substitute position, beginning March 25 through the remainder of the school year, at a salary of $46,000 pro-rated as per the collective bargaining agreement.

• Carlee Laubach be appointed head boys’ volleyball coach at a stipend of $3,250 as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.

• Lyle Sweppenheiser be appointed assistant boys’ volleyball coach at a stipend of $2,525 as stipulated in the collective bargaining agreement.