A note of thanks from the ABPA

June 18th, 2015 10:25 am

First Posted: 2/4/2015

First and foremost, thank you to all the numerous attendees each year from near and far, whose support enables the celebration to grow in size and offerings.

Many thanks to our sponsors: Crystal Cabin Fever, Everything Natural, Frontier Communications and Gerrity’s Market. In addition, thanks to the Family Fun Faire sponsor: Procter and Gamble; Parade sponsor: Ken Pollock Volvo of Wilkes-Barre/Scranton; Entertainment sponsors: Citizens Savings Bank and Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs; Horse and carriage ride sponsor: Michael Goffer; Reception sponsor: Ramada hotel and character sponsor: Sid Michaels Kavulich.

Thank you to Lackawanna County’s Department of Arts and Culture for their continued support of the festival, as well as County Commissioners Patrick O’Malley, James Wansacz, and Corey O’Brien. A special thank you to Grethchen Wintermantel and COLTS.

Gratitude is extended to Media Partners: The Abington Journal, The Abington Suburban, and WBRE/WYOU. Also to Lamar Advertising for their digital billboard assistance.

Thanks to all of the local businesses who donated prizes this year: Abington Community Library, Dietrich Theater, Elk Mountain, Lackawanna College Community Concert Series, Wayne Pisanchyn, The Avenue Consignment Shoppe and NBT Bank.

Thank you to Chris Hughes for his work on the festival map.

And of course the festival would not be possible without the help of the Clarks Summit Borough and Mayor Patty Lawler, Council President Gerrie Carey, Borough Manager Virginia Kehoe, Warren Watkins, Department of Public Works, Clarks Summit police and fire departments and the Lions Club. Thank you for all of your help and continued support.

Thank you to all who participated in the parade this year to help welcome the ice to town.

Thank you to Barbara Cohen for organizing the live entertainment for the festival this year.

Thank you to Abington Art Studio for help with the children’s crafts.

Thank you to Frontier Communications for help with the festival banner.

Thank you to J.P. Mascaro and Sons for help with the removal of the festival of ice trash.

And last, but certainly not least, thank you to everyone who worked on the Festival of Ice committee: Chair Gail Rees and committee members Barry Kaplan, Dorothy O’Connor, Rich Foley, Rich Winslow, Sue Van Horn, Janice Bevaqua, Elena Bush-O’Connor, Dori Waters and Mia Bartoletti.

A special debt of gratitude is offered to all of the participating businesses and, of course, the Abington Business and Professional Association and Executive Director Laura Ancherani.