$3.2 million grant establishes Scholars Program at TCMC

June 19th, 2015 9:07 am

First Posted: 11/12/2014

The Northeastern PA Health Care Foundation presented The Commonwealth Medical College (TCMC) with a $3.2 million grant to establish the Northeastern PA Health Care Foundation Scholars Program.

This scholarship program is need-based and will enable students from Lackawanna, Luzerne, and Wyoming Counties who have a strong interest in practicing medicine in Northeastern PA to attend TCMC. The goal of the program is to support TCMC and encourage physician retention in NEPA.

Shown, from left, first row, TCMC Dean Stephen Schienman, M.D. and James Clemente, NEPA HCF Board chairman. Second row, Marise Garofalo, TCMC VP of institutional advancement; Linda Berardi-Demo, Ed.D., TCMC associate dean for student affairs; Natalie Gelb, NEPA HCF Board; Kerry O’Grady, NEPA HCF Board; Michele McGowan, NEPA HCF Board and Laura Ducceschi, president and CEO Scranton Area Foundation and NEPA HCF administrator. Third row, Robert Naismith, Ph.D., TCMC Board; Robert Wright, M.D., TCMC Board; Jeremiah Eagen, M.D., NEPA HCF Board; Honorable Terrence Nealon, NEPA HCF Board and Andrea Mulrine, TCMC director of corporate and foundation relations. Fourth row, Robert Knowles, NEPA HCF Board; Jim Mileski, NEPA HCF Board and Christopher Dressel, M.D, NEPA HCF Board.