Abington area residents receive awards, recognition from Clarks Summit Borough Council

For Abington Journal | May 9th, 2016 10:36 am

CLARKS SUMMIT — The borough council recognized people who contribute to the well-being of the municipality at the Second Annual Mayor’s Brunch.

Award recipients are as follows:

Katie Marquardt, chair for Adopt-A-Christmas Tree fundraiser, received the Community Leadership Award.

Dr. Jim Lytle, president of Summit University, received the Good Fellowship Award.

Bill Thorburn, mayor of Clarks Green, was named Most Valuable Mayor.

Joseph Adcroft, owner of Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, received the Generosity Award.

Lori Trygar, Electric Street, was named a Most Valuable Neighbor.

Jeanne Yarmey, Woodridge Circle, was named a Most Valuable Neighbor.

Dawn Williams, owner of Sunrise Café, received the Goodwill Ambassador Award.

Jason O’Malley, MDJ Real Estate, was named Most Valuable Property Owner.

Judy Evans, of Lee Electric, received the Generosity Award.

The Laurel Garden Club Landscapers received the Award for Creators of Greenspace, Pocket Park Gardens.

A special presentation was also given to Christian Orlando, junior councilman, who was recognized for his consistent and loyal service to the council. His award was presented by Sen. John Blake and state Rep. Sid Michaels Kavulich.


For Abington Journal

Information provided by the Borough of Clarks Summit.