Abington area students make dean’s list honors, earn scholarships

June 10th, 2015 9:38 am

Montes awarded scholarship

SCRANTON — Bianca Montes, of Clarks Summit, a liberal studies major, was awarded a full-tuition Community Opportunity Scholarship at Lackawanna College.

Established in 2013, the Community Opportunity Scholarships are awarded annually to students from communities surrounding Lackawanna’s locations in Scranton, Hawley, Hazleton, New Milford, and Towanda. Students who are selected exhibit great academic potential and are involved in both extracurricular and community service activities.

Bell graduates from RIT

ROCHESTER, N.Y. — Wilson Bell, of Clarks Summit, graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Science degree in new media interactive development from RIT’s B. Thomas Golisano College of Computing and Information Sciences in the spring 2014-15 semester.

Sem awards scholarships

KINGSTON — Local students were recently awarded merit scholarships at Wyoming Seminary Upper School. Rising freshman Michael Giallorenzi, of Clarks Summit, and rising sophomore Adwitya Singh, of Clarks Summit received half-tuition, four-year scholarships.

The Sem Scholarship program awards scholarships to eighth and ninth grade students with exceptional academic talents from schools other than Wyoming Seminary. The recipients are chosen on the basis of their performance on the Sem Scholarship Test, a competitive exam, as well as interviews with the scholarship committee and their academic profile. Test-takers are also eligible to receive four-year Dean’s Merit Scholarships, for those who scored within the top 20 percent of all students taking the exam.

Locals named to Delaware dean’s list

NEWARK, Del. — The following area students were named to the University of Delaware Spring 2015 Dean’s List. Jason Bamford, of South Abington Township; Krista Brickel, of South Abington Township; Alicia Donahoe, of Dalton; Sarah Fulton, of Clarks Summit; Nicole Kozar, of Clarks Summit; Brian Mattern, of Clarks Summit and Matthew Stroney, of Dalton.

Krenitsky named to dean’s list

ROCHESTER, N.Y. — Kyra Krenitsky, of Clark Summit, was named to the dean’s list at Rochester Institute of Technology for the spring 2014-15 semester. Degree-seeking undergraduate students are eligible for dean’s list if their term GPA is greater than or equal to 3.4; they do not have any grades of “Incomplete,” “D” or “F;” and they have registered for, and completed, at least 12 credit hours.

Locals on St. Joseph’s dean’s list

PHILADELPHIA — Aileen Brier and Anthony Cerra, both of Clarks Summit, earned dean’s list honors for the spring 2015 semester at St. Joseph’s University. Students must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or above, a B or greater in all their classes, and complete at least 15 credits to earn dean’s list status for a semester. Brier is majoring in communication studies and Cerra is majoring in international relations.

Locals graduate from U of S

SCRANTONEmily Harasym, of Factoryville, a biochemistry, cell and molecular biology major was a magna cum laude graduate of the Special Jesuit Liberal Arts Honors Program at The University of Scranton. Michael Walker, of Clarks Green, was a summa cum laude graduate of the Honors Program at The University of Scranton.

Reach the Abington Journal newsroom at 570-587-1148 or news@s24528.p831.sites.pressdns.com.