Abington Heights junior high wrestling team wins Lackawanna League title

February 21st, 2017 12:45 pm

The Abington Heights junior high wrestling team won the Lackawanna League championship Feb. 11 at Delaware Valley High School. From left, first row, Brandon Grogan, James Brown, Cole Kroptavich, Grant McGinley. Second row, Salvatore Schiavone, Hutch Lynott, Oliver Egan, Gavin Drake, Julian Blanco. Third row, Jacob Scott, Benny Arendt, Richie Padula, Jerome Wheeler, Griffin McGinley. Fourth row, Cade Kroptavich, Zach Rice, Will Stevens. Fifth row, coaches Morgan Craig, Steve Kroptavich and Will Davis. Eight Abington Heights wrestlers advanced to the finals and six — Grogan, Schiavone, Brown, Egan, Drake and Cade Kroptavich — placed first. The team combined to win 12 medals, won the Berwick Duals and Hawkeye Memorial Tournament and claimed the Division 1 championship. Morgan Craig was named the Lackawanna League Coach of the Year.

http://www.theabingtonjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/web1_ABJ-Jr-High-Champs.jpgSubmitted photo