Abington-area residents in the news


Walsh named to dean’s list

CLARION — John M. Walsh, of Dalton, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2018 semester at Clarion University of Pennsylvania.

Nealon named to dean’s list

ROCHESTER, NY — Audra Nealon, of South Abington Twp., has been named to the dean’s list at Nazareth College for the spring 2018 semester. Nealon is majoring in Music Therapy.

Foley named teacher of year

SCRANTON — Timothy Foley, Ph.D., of Clarks Summit, professor of chemistry at The University of Scranton, was named the 2018 Alpha Sigma Nu Teacher of the Year.

Two locals honored at Wilkes

WILKES-BARRE — Wilkes University recognized over 60 graduating seniors at the annual academic awards ceremony May 18 at the Darling Theater at the Dorothy Dickson Darte Center for the Performing Arts.

Abigail Burke, of Clarks Summit, was honored with the Outstanding Scholar with highest grade point average by the Biology & Health Sciences department and Dr. Michael Steele.

Ashley Turner, of Facatoryville, was honored with the Academic Achievement Award – MBA by the Master of Business Administration department and Dr. Jennifer Edmonds.

Five named to Mansfield dean’s list

MANSFIELD — The following Abington-area students have been named to the Mansfield University dean’s list for the spring 2018 semester: Sean Andres, Adryana Appleby, Jacklyn Appleby, all of Tunkhannock; Lindsay Bergey, of Factoryville; and Samantha Seidel, of Dalton.

Three named to Mansfield president’s list

MANSFIELD — Abington-area students named to the Mansfield University president’s list for the spring 2018 semester include:

Cameron King, of Tunkhannock; Richard Pollock, of Dalton; and Amanda Sheakoski, of Scott Township.

Two named to Bucknell dean’s list

LEWISBURG — Ruhani Aulakh, of Waverly, and Ceilia Severini, of Clarks Summit, have been named to the dean’s list at Bucknell University for the spring semester of the 2017-18 academic year. Ruhani is a member of the Class of 2019 and Severini is a member of the Class of 2018.

Martin studying in London

ANNVILLE — Nicole Martin, of Factoryville, is one of 33 Lebanon Valley College students studying abroad this summer as part of the college’s study abroad program. A graduate of Lackawanna Trail High School, Martin is pursuing a bachelor of science in early childhood education and special education and studying in London, England this summer.

Eagen receives BA degree

GETTYSBURG — Brianna Eagen, of Waverly, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Gettysburg College May 20.

Two named to York College dean’s list

YORK — Luke Fayocvitz, of South Abington Township, and Lyle Sweppenheiser, of Factory, have been named to the dean’s list at York College of Pennsylvania for the spring 2018 semester.

Fayocavitz is a sophomore Sport Management major and Sweppenheiser is a senior Theatre major.

Bulford named honor society member

READING — Karlie, Bulford of Tunkhannock, was named a member of the Beta Kappa Chi honor society in spring 2018. A graduate of Tunkhannock High School, Bulford is studying Nursing at Alvernia University.

Webb notified of certification

CLARKS SUMMIT — Mary Webb, of Clarks Summit, has been notified by the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics that she has met all qualifications as a Board Certified Specialist in Obesity & Weight Management. This achievement has been designated for only 15 professionals throughout the state of Pennsylvania.

Webb currently practices at the Endless Mountain Health Systems in Montrose.

Two graduate from NCC

BETHLEHEM — Danielle Rohaly, of Clarks Summit, and Cody Brown, of Tunkhannock, graduated from Northampton Community College on May 24.

Rohaly graduated with an Associate in Applied Science in Paralegal and Brown graduated with an Associate in Arts in General Studies.

Two named to dean’s list

WILLIAMSBURG, Va — Jacob Ross, of South Abington Twp., and Emily Peairs, of Waverly Twp., were recently named to the dean’s list at William & Mary for the spring 2018 semester.

Agentowicz named to dean’s list

EMMITSBURG, MD — Kayla Agentowicz, of Clarks Summit, earned dean’s list honors for the spring 2018 semester at Mount St. Mary’s University.