Library celebrates longtime volunteers

June 18th, 2015 10:25 am

First Posted: 4/14/2015

CLARKS SUMMIT — Those involved with the Abington Community Library had an opportunity to mingle and reminisce at an Appreciation Celebration on Sunday, April 12 at the library on West Grove Street.

Trustees, past and present, volunteers with 10 or more years of service and past and present staff were honored.

Leah Ducato Rudolph, library director, said she planned the evening of merriment along with past presidents, Jan McCabe, a trustee for 45 years, and Adrienne Horger, a trustee for 31 years.

“Years ago they had a dinner to recognize volunteers and staff. When the bottom fell out of the budget, the dinner became a thing of the past,” Rudolph said. McCabe, Horger and Rudolph planned the event and newly-installed board president, Jim McVety, was master of ceremonies.

“This year we have a trustee who’s rolling off (the board) after 45 years and we needed to recognize her, so I thought why not recognize all of our trustees over the years, our volunteers of 10 years or more and staff? Some of these people haven’t seen each other for years and I thought it would a nice mingling event,” said Rudolph.

Mary Ann Nichols, a Clarks Green resident who served on the board in the 1970s, said the Abington Community Library board “was absolutely one of the best boards” she’s ever been part of.

Past president Leela Baikadi moved to the Scranton area in 1986 and became acquainted with the library when her children were young.

“As soon as I go anywhere, I look for the library first. It is my life line,” Baikadi explained.

The Abington Community Library is one of the first places McVety and his wife, Sarah Dawgert, came to after moving here four years ago.

“We are regular patrons,” McVety said. “We benefit from the huge collection of materials and the number of really interesting programs for kids and adults, so I couldn’t be happier to give back as a trustee.

“As trustees, we are caretakers of a community focused organization, so in keeping with tonight’s theme, our goal is to ensure the library continues to thrive and grow as it has done for decades,” he said.

Among the individuals recognized for their service was staff member, Barb Smith for more than 30 years of service to the library; as well as trustees Paul Keeler, Dalida O’Malley, McVety, Bob Jones, Milton Friedman, Baikadi, Linda Schuller, Mary Ann Nichols, Tom McArdle, Joe LaCoe, Marie Littel, Bernie Harding, Mary Jo Kelly, Ed Klovensky, Horger and McCabe.

A plaque, honoring all library volunteers with 10 or more years of continuous service was unveiled. Four volunteers, Jim Kalp, Sharleen and Dennis Martin, and McCabe, were on hand for the unveiling.